Austin ISD recognized for its sustainability efforts, receiving nine ENERGY STAR Awards

Austin, TX. The Austin Independent School District (AISD) has been recognized for its sustainability efforts, receiving nine ENERGY STAR Awards in the past year. The District celebrated with a gathering to capture the moment on June 6th.

Buildings that receive the ENERGY STAR designation are among the top 25 percent for energy efficiency nationwide and meet strict indoor air quality performance levels set by the EPA. As an ENERGY STAR Partner, Performance Services performed the required observations and made the submissions to the EPA for ENERGY STAR Certification at no additional cost to AISD.

The AISD initiative to qualify its facilities for ENERGY STAR certification is part of a broader energy and water efficiency effort that commenced in 2017. Performance Services (PSI) was selected following a competitive process to conduct an Investment Grade Audit, implement its Energy Leadership program at all 129 AISD campuses, and implement efficiency upgrades at 11 campuses. These upgrades included LED lighting improvements, power conditioning, water conservation measures, and building automation equipment, including programming and seasonal optimization.

The implemented improvements are guaranteed to save the District more than $1.6 million annually. However, with equipment upgrades and participation from AISD staff, $2.4 million was saved in the first year, and energy usage was reduced by 24 percent. PSI also worked with Austin Energy and the District to secure $268,248 in utility rebates.

The District’s commitment and focused effort by the Energy & Water Management Team and the Sustainability Department, including a staff and student engagement program, are ongoing and having a significant impact.

Facilities that have earned the ENERGY STAR certification include Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders, Blazier Intermediate, Casis Elementary, Doss Elementary, and Menchaca Elementary Schools. These facilities join four others that earned the designation in spring 2023, including Clayton Elementary, Maplewood Elementary, T.A. Brown Elementary, and Walnut Creek Elementary Schools.